Half as tall again (Fritha’s Dream)

He grunts at me
if he says anythin
makin me feel small
and thick as well
but he never schooled
an I am half as tall
as im

He always knows things
without me tellin im
maybe he is a magician
but not a showy one
he just gets things done
an I am half as tall
as im

He never smiles at me or
the wee things that I brung
an I wait til he fixes em
feeds, waters an stores em
safe in wooden boxes
an I am half as tall
as im

He is just as broken
stooped an broken an smelly
but he draws me near im
we share a passion for wild
things that are needin us
an I am half as tall
as im

poem © copyright Brian Shirra 2013

One comment on “Half as tall again (Fritha’s Dream)

  1. colonialist says:

    Inspired by ‘The Snow Goose’?

Go on, give me some feedback..

