Senses

Early this morning, before my head left my pillow,
I stand, mentally dressed, in green outdoor fatigues
and breakfast on warm, buttered toast and coffee.

Opening the window I feel the cold draft of winter
but I push the frame as wide as I can to let it all in.
The frozen air rushes into my nose, stabbing my brain.

I could not be more awake than this, my senses tingling.
Swoosh! The sound of a swift rushing to it’s hidden nest,
darting to and fro’ across the grey painted canvas above.

Pulling up the flaps on my leather boots, stringing the eyelets,
I stand up to pull on my wet-proof, knee-high jacket, tugging
at the elasticated sleeves to cover my exposed wrists.

The path from the old front door is littered with gold.
A barking dog whispers in my ear from some faraway place
as I trudge towards the towering trees in the distance.

Ever-awed by the sight, I stop to admire the canopy as it
cradles me and every other living thing, swaying back and forth
making me feel like a new born babe in its mother’s arms.

Involuntarily my mouth gapes open, aghast at the beauty before me
and I taste the freedom it brings, refreshing my tired lungs,
energising those brain cells that can still be taught something.

The trail is well worn and I walk in silence for mile after mile
without tiring. Cold air stings my lips but I don’t cover my face,
I prefer the interaction and the glow it brings me.

This scene is not new to me. I sit on the remnants of an oak
to take in the view. Through the trees I can see the valley,
shaded in a kaleidoscope of greens, yellows and browns.

Not a living soul has passed me by on this usually busy trail and
I wonder. I touch the oak and I can feel it’s age pass through me
as my fingers trace the rough edges of each successive year.

Closing my eyes I try to recall a previous time when I was here.
I am falling, crashing to the ground. The sound is deafening.
My face, cold against the metal bed. I lie beside my wheelchair.

 

poem © copyright Brian Shirra 2012

4 comments on “Senses

  1. 1emeraldcity says:

    I was with y ou all the way here…feeling those textures, the bracing air, loving nature…and then that slap into reality…a wish fulfillment dream at its best. Memorable!

  2. wonderful writing my friend! such beautiful imagery … loved it ❤

  3. To begin with, I’m a huge fan of sensory-focused poetry. But the way you’ve woven it into a narration, the surprise ending, makes it all the more powerful To me it speaks of the power of our mind to transcend limitations.

  4. Love the imagery, felt the experience along with you with acute awareness. Beautiful writing.

Go on, give me some feedback..

