The Black Dot

There is nothing behind the t.v.
except wires that shackle me
to the world inside, where

shit projects onto my retinas,
producing impulses that bounce
from the optic nerve to my brain, so

I take the road most travelled –
search for the funny or
watch documentaries about

people whose deaths
are more interesting
than my life.

poem © copyright Brian Shirra 2012

4 comments on “The Black Dot

  1. brudberg says:

    Love the last stanza, though depressing

  2. guyportman says:

    I think this sums up television really well!

  3. claudia says:

    now that was just what i needed…fine piece of poetry…and love the closure

  4. vg9liomotheni1978 says:

    Reblogged this on Christina Brown Weblog.

Go on, give me some feedback..

