Being Here

I lightly press the plastic grip to release the fine spray
that floats in the air for what seems an eternity
settling on roots, stems and leaves to form microscopic
puddles of goodness

If one day I should forget or perhaps am ill, or do not
need a pill that day, what would they say?
One or two might die and the others left wondering
why I had been so cruel

There is irony in a situation where I can influence
their well-being, having so long neglected myself
until, almost too late, I receive a wake-up call
that alerts me to the obvious; were I to do nothing

I’d not be here at all

 

 

poem Ā© copyright Brian Shirra 2012

2 comments on “Being Here

  1. Eve Redwater says:

    I really love the marriage between the care you give to the plants/garden, and the way you made the flowers etc., almost anthropomorphic in the way they’d miss you were you not to care for them. šŸ™‚ I think this is a really lovely sentiment. Also the ending is really good; a little sombre and definitely reflective. Great work!

    Eve x

    • Eve Redwater says:

      No, definitely I think sharing the thinking behind your work can be very helpful. I don’t do it that much, but I do it a lot more than I used to when I first started out! I’ve gradually realised that too much ambiguity can be, not necessarily bad, but not good either.

      Take care, and I’ll look forward to reading your posts as they come. šŸ™‚
      All the best,
      Eve x

Go on, give me some feedback..

