Has Love Gone Down?

When the dew of the morning dissolves in the day
When I’m looking at you and you turn away
When I see your lips move but they don’t make a sound
Tell me the truth, has love gone down?

When I’m tired and weary and I’ve not done a thing
When I can’t remember when I last heard you sing
When you don’t seem too worried about being around
Tell me the truth, has love gone down?

When I look in the mirror and there’s only me there
When night after night you don’t even care
When love’s like a spirit that’s gone underground
Tell me the truth, has love gone down?

 

 

poem © copyright Brian Shirra 2012

2 comments on “Has Love Gone Down?

  1. C Rose says:

    Palpable lonely within this..a felt sense of what the tearing feels like. Well penned ~ Rose

  2. Maurine Kilo says:

    poignant. i like your style.

Go on, give me some feedback..

