Predatory Birds

Bird on Rock - image from Morgue FileI am hungry all day but I prefer to look at others’

Silver tipped wings cutting through the low cloud,

Diving into the foamy brine below this outcrop.

I try to capture all of the images but it’s hard,

So many, at such a speed and arriving from nowhere,

Daring each other to more dangerous acts of defiance.

I take note of each landing and I am noticed too.

Some hop towards me, strafing me with loud squawks,

Deciding that I am a threat to their domain.

I move to a small crevice in the rocky plateau.

Soon I stumble and fall into this sea full of shadows,

Death awakens me and I soar up to the shimmering sun.

Go on, give me some feedback..

