For the Kids

I love to see you when you wake,

it brings me something new,

Like pieces of a giant puzzle

that one day will be you.

I’d love to know the dreams you have

and if they all come true.

I suppose if I wait long enough

You’ll tell me if you want to.

I hope your days are filled with fun

and nights so full of love,

That you are kept safe and warm

looked after from above.

I guess some day you’ll grow up

and one day you might change,

Find your own place in the world,

Won’t that be so strange.

I hope that day is far away

and you can wait a while,

I know it’s kind of selfish

but you still make me smile.

I know just what you want to do,

You want to grow real fast,

But take it from one who knows,

There is no time like the past.

I’m hoping you enjoy yourself,

Live for the here and now,

There’s plenty time to come

that you can waste someow.

I don’t know if you’ll have kids,

Perhaps one day you might,

Then, when they are growing up

You’ll teach them wrong from right.

I can see you stand beside their bed

after kissing them goodnight,

Thoughts, racing through your head,

If I could guess at them I might:

You love to see them when they wake,

It brings you something new,

Like pieces of a giant puzzle

that one day became you.

Go on, give me some feedback..

