Vestiges of an Old Flame

I cannot sleep so lie and stare,
breathe deeply from the salty air,
watch you tremble, hear you moan,
and, though together, feel alone.

I dream again what might have been
if looking in those eyes I’d seen,
an awakening of care – of love,
instead I find a lack thereof.

I doze a while drift out to sea
where the far horizon captures me,
and wraps me in it’s warm embrace
devoid of form yet full of grace.

I wake once more but with a start
enthralled by my still-beating heart,
and lay me down at once suppine,
to ponder what is yours and mine.

5 comments on “Vestiges of an Old Flame

  1. What a sad song to sing… the loneliness in togeherness so well described. Loved your meter in this…. great work.

  2. brian miller says:

    really a very lovely rhythm you have captured…evocative…though together feel alone….
    and that plays well off the last line as well….well done….still processing mine..ha

  3. Gay says:

    This is a beautiful and perfect example of what I wanted today. Beautiful melody on a dance like rhythm of iambic tetrameter. The movement a foxtrot dance of commitment mixed with regret. Anyone who says this isn’t a part of every marriage is lying. There is always a sameness that occurs somewhere along the way, a curiosity about the journey not taken, about what would have lain ahead on that sea voyage one never made. This is particularly adept and expertly rendered. Thank you.

  4. Sherry Marr says:

    Oh I so admire how deftly you executed the rhyme and rhythm of this piece. It dances. I so resonate with the words……….a wonderful read!

  5. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Beautifully done! A lovely read.

Go on, give me some feedback..

