Taking Flight

Today I woke up to the sounds of birds migrating.

Perhaps they were discussing their winter schedule,

Or maybe they were arguing with their Sat-Nav.

Standing, flat-footed, on the cold floor boards

I peeked at them as they moved across the sky

Silouetted against a primary-coloured backdrop.

I let the slats go and sloped back to my warm bed

and thought of the journey they were making

and then it occurred to me, they had no choice –

they took flight to ensure their survival.

We cannot fly.

One comment on “Taking Flight

  1. jacsprat says:

    I love the last line. This poem is wonderful.

Go on, give me some feedback..

